A Gayla


I am so impressed with an event I attended last night. I attended a fundraiser for The Center Orange County. They provide outreach, education, HIV testing, support groups, etc for the LGBT community. They honored Peter Paige (Emmett Hunneycutt in Queer As Folk) and Jane Lynch (L Word, Christopher Guest movies, etc) for their advocacy in the Gay Community. Cybill Shepherd introduced Jane Lynch and wowza! These ladies are GORGEOUS!

I went with my best friend who sponsored a table. It was just lovely. The celebrities there were very generous with their time and fan photos. They provided thoughtful acceptance speeches for their awards and seemed genuinely by the adoration they were receiving. 

I spent sometime chatting with Peter Paige and he was probably the most tender celebrities I have ever met. He did not seem eager to get away and he was actually quite interesting. I was a fan of his acting before and now I can say I really just like him. He was fun. No, I don’t think we will be going out to coffee but I did not feel the smug that usually comes from celebrity events. 

What I really walked away with was a renewed commitment to fighting the fight. Even though the heels I was wearing were like modern day foot binding, I still felt the message of we need all the help we can get and we need all the friends we can get. Civil rights are exactly as defined: they are a RIGHT. It is time for me to jump back in the game. I have been a side liner too long. I will do what I can to support and be present in this movement. Watch out bitches….she is back!

3 responses to “A Gayla

  1. Thanks for good post.

  2. Hi, interesting post. I have been pondering this issue,so thanks for sharing. I will certainly be subscribing to your site. Keep up great writing

  3. orlando santamaria

    OMG and when we say she is back we mean itttttttt… lovely post.. not all celebrities are beings beggin for attention

Leave a Reply

